Do you need a migration agent?

HomePaperworkBefore I began this whole thing, I considered doing the papers myself. It’s pretty straightforward, said some people. Also, it’s very tempting to do it yourself because you save yourself a whole lot of money.

If you want to save the cash, or don’t have a whole lot of cash (and in that case, you shouldn’t be migrating unless you have some savings) then it’s tempting. A whole year’s rent in Australia – said a friend I made on the Internet.

But the decision was made for me when I realise that my case wasn’t as straightforward. So I decided to go with a migration agent. And when they listed out the number of things I had to do, I was so glad I chose that. One form had 30+ pages! And that’s just one of many that I have to fill! I hate paperwork with a vengeance!

If you’re about to embark on the emgration journey, you may be asking yourself the same question. Ask yourself:

  • Are you comfortable and confident to fill in forms correctly?
  • Do you have time to do the running around such as visit government offices or officials to get documents or certain documents certified?
  • Are you ready to invest a lot of time in research to know how things are done?

If you’re comfortable with all that, then I suppose the DIY way is good for you.

Meanwhile, I have to write my CV, fill in an asset declaration form, apply for jobs in Oz (apparently a requirement when going for South Australia nomination), get my college transcripts (pain in the ass cos my college staff is pretty incompetent) and so on.

I hate paperwork. But I’m glad someone is doing the bulk of it for me.

One thought on “Do you need a migration agent?

  1. hi susan,

    any suggestions for the agent, i heard the rulings are tougher now and I dont think I have the patience and time to go through all the required documents.

    i did google a few agents, the price has gone up pretty high for processing ones PR almost 25k.

Leave a Reply

