Same shit, different bucket

I don’t want to give you the impression, based on my last post, that life is all “Grass is greener on the other side”. Here’s comes a little dose of reality.

Some migrants think that if they make it in Australia, life would be all “la-la-la I’ve made it and now I can chill under a cabana with a mocktail”. You know what, life in Australia has its own stresses. Life is not all hunky dory here. My good friend Rachel who lives in Melbourne described life here as, “Same shit, different bucket”. Gosh, how true!

You may be envious of me because I got a job after a mere two months in Australia. But please, don’t be. Sure, it’s kind of incredible and all, but you don’t really know the kind of stress I go through. In fact, today, I got on my bike after work and rode home as if demons were right behind me because I had so much of pent up energy from the rage/frustration/annoyance I felt at work that I had to burn it off. Later, me and my friend drank pots of tea and ate  jiao zhi and ranted about our respective working lives.

Life here isn’t easy. If anything, judging from the conversations I have with other migrants, life is much easier in Malaysia. So, if you’re coming over here to experienced an easier life, please forgive me as I go to one side and laugh my ass off 😉

Okay, kidding aside, what I’m trying to say is there’s good and bad. I came to Australia to discover myself, and I did in many ways. I did, in a way, wanted to come to Australia because I had this deluded belief that life here is easier and it’s easier to have a work life balance. In some cases it could be true, but in my case not quite as I work for a creative agency and agency work is hard work.

I realise that it’s not the situation or place that I have to change but myself. My friend in Malaysia said that it’s sure one hell of an expensive way to discover this truth, but sometimes, I suppose, you need a change of environment to realise things.

But still, you know, no regrets coming here despite the challenges. Challenges can be opportunities after all, and if we don’t think of ourselves as victims but as students when challenges come our way, then life is easier to handle. My current situation at work, I’m learning more about myself: How I handle stress, what I really enjoy doing, and what annoys me. It’s a challenge to rise to the next level.

So, I hope you have an idea what I’m trying to say here. If you’re in Malaysia, don’t think your life is shit just because you’re in Malaysia. Because life is shit here too. Shit is the same everywhere, no matter the geography. Maybe different colour only. And container!

(Okay, I shall put the shit metaphor to rest for now.)

So, appreciate your life wherever you are! Look around and be thankful for what you have. Don’t keep focusing on what you don’t have.  🙂

Have a good life, and take care of your  bucket!

9 thoughts on “Same shit, different bucket

  1. Well, if it’s the same shit, why not move back to your old shit, where the smell is more familiar? Why contradict yourself by saying life is shit here but at the same time have no regrets moving here? Surely something here is holding you back. Those who migrated here know it is not easy, but are willing to take the chance. Some made it while others did not, and left for home. So, if you think it’s the same shit here, stop whinning and go back home if you feel life is better there! After all, nobody forced you to eat this shit.

    • Hello Shit Hits the Fan (Wow, to call yourself excrement…) Awesome! Yes, Wahlau is right. I’m not whining. I don’t want to give the impression that life is so awesome here that Malaysians are dumb to stay in Malaysia. Because that’s the mentality of some people (not all, okay??). It’s not a contradiction at all to say that yes, I don’t regret moving here but life can be hard. Gee, one can’t always be positive about life. Life has ups and downs, but it matters how you approach life, right?

  2. It is great that you realised about ”yourself” afterall when come to a foreign land. The point is most younger generations are pampered in Malaysia and never really been exposed to hardship in life there…hence the shit stories ! :-))) ….No worries, be strong..once you overcome these hurdles, you are a better person , no matter where you will be ! 🙂 Thinking coming to Oz will have easier life is just ignorance…:-) Never too late to know …:-) Stay strong ! 🙂

    • Yeah we are a pampered lot. I mean, I lived in my own 1000sqf apartment all by myself, ate out at fancy restaurants at least once a week … 😛 But coming here and drastically simplifying my life is great too. I really enjoy the simple life now. I now realise what I’m capable of, how strong I can be and most of all, facing my fears head on. 🙂

  3. Ditto ! Sometime it’s just not worth it, if you are having a good life and good career, making heaps of $ in MY, then no point to migrate to start all over again, it’s not fun and nothing to prove at all.

    Be appreciative of what you have in MY, no place is nirvana in this world unless you have bucket load of $ and don’t need to grind through the day to day life.

    FYI, you are just another Asian in the white men’s eyes. Hope it says it all. But for many who still wanted to migrate, just go and do it !

    We only live 1 life, have fun !

    • My words exactly allanlye! My friend in Malaysia wanted to migrate but decided against it because it didn’t seem worth it. When she found out I was going, she asked me if she should’ve done it after all. I told her that there’ nothing wrong at all to stay in Malaysia and that judging from the stories I hear it’s not a piece of cake. The question is – do you want to put your family through that? Are you prepared to weather the storm? If you aren’t it is PERFECTLY fine to stay in Malaysia. You’re not a chicken for not doing it. The problem is, there’s a faction of Malaysians who believe that you should burn your bridges and do it no matter what. I advice caution and wisdom. Migration is not an easy thing to do.

      BUT if you choose to do it, by all means. Do it and just be aware it’s hard. But do it with the right reasons. My reason is not to get a better education or escape the political madness in Malaysia. My reasons are personal and almost spiritual, so cannot comparela. To me this is an adventure cos I am wanderlust-y after all. Want to travel mah, experience life in a different country.

      I’m crazy enough to ditch a high paying job for that. What can I say? One has to be a little bit nuts to migrate, really. 🙂

  4. Thank you for sharing how you feel. I feel the same way but I am motivated to stay on because my son enjoys a healthier academic life here. Other than that, the high crime rate in Malaysia and the beautiful outdoors, you are right, it’s the same old shit.

    As a 475 holder I was also lucky to land a full time job after 3 months and 3 months later, another full time permanent job in a office (not a factory or a farm). I guess I am on my way to fulfilling the one year work requirement to apply for PR. Nevertheless, it all sounds too good to be true.

    One month into the job, I noticed how unfairly I have been treated. I have been made to work longer than office hours, wash the dishes and cups after meetings, answer phone calls after office hours and get insulted for my dressing. My bosses know I come from Malaysia but they behave like they are higher and mightier than Malaysians. I am keeping silent all this time as I fear that I’ll lose my job. I feel so vulnerable.

    I feel so conned coming here. Migration agents made us feel like it is easy to get jobs in Australia. People have told us that it is hard but what we didn’t know is that a majority of companies don’t even hire TR holders. I also noticed that there are some companies who are quick to hire you… beware because their work conditions and requirements enslaves you. You can tell by the fact that many migrants work for them and their turn over rate is very high.

    In the end it’s a money game. The government doesn’t really care if the number of migrants exceeds the employment needs. Raising the graduate visa 400% higher doesn’t stop graduates from going back to their country. Many will still want to remain in Australia whether or not they a good job that suits their skills. The government makes so much money out of migrants, ya? It’s like an industry on its own.

    I used to think that I was so unfortunate to be born in Malaysia. I looked so highly towards Asians who speak like white men. I think differently now. No one is better or on top of the other.

    What hurt me most is that many people don’t welcome this kind of talk. After making a few complaints about life in OZ land, instead of being understanding, they tell you to go back home. “Australia didn’t beg you to come, anyway”. Thus, many people find it shameful to announce that things are not working out and that they are returning home.

    To all those who decide to return home… don’t ever be ashamed.
    And like what Susan says, appreciate what you already have.
    Someone once said, “ If you feel the grass is greener on the other side, water the grass on your own and it will be just as green”.

    • I’m sorry you have to go through all that, Jordie. Yeah, I hear similar stories too. I wish it wasn’t like that, but it can be reality here too. Life is just life, you know? So if you’re in Malaysia with a lovely job with great colleagues and a comfortable life, I would advice people to know EXACTLY why they’re in Oz for. For a lot of people, it’s for their kids and parents will do anything for their kids. So I understand that. Meanwhile, we just do the best we can…

Leave a Reply

