Why Adelaide? Why not?

A black swan swims idly down the Torrens River ... I cycle past this to work, imagine that!

A black swan swims idly down the Torrens River … I cycle past this to work, imagine that!

A lot of people – many of them fellow migrants – ask me: Why in the world did you choose to live in Adelaide of all cities?

Adelaide is too small, too boring, too [negative adjective]. You must be at the end of your  rope to come here.

And my answer to them is this: Well, it kinda chose me.

My 475 is sponsored by South Australia, so I come here loh …

But really, even if it did choose me, I love living in Adelaide. I’ve lived in Perth for a year when I was a student in 1999 and then visited Sydney and Melbourne. But I still love Adelaide best.

Why? Simple:

I live so close to Adelaide CBD that I can see the fireworks on New Year’s Eve. And my rent isn’t exorbitant – it’s actually cheap!

I get to bike to the city via a beautiful park trail with a running river full of ducks and black swans.

The beach is only a tram ride away from the city.

You can even bike to the beach if that tickles your fancy. It takes an hour from the CBD.

Driving here is an absolute dream. The roads are filled with polite drivers who stop for pedestrians instead of trying to mow them at every opportunity. People actually drive at the speed limit (it’s 60kmh at most places!). Because Adelaide is a fine city. You know, the kind of fine that makes your wallet thinner. (Don’t play-play. A speeding ticket could knock you back a few hundred dollars.)

There may not be any shops opened after 5pm, but that only means you can spend more time with friends and family in interesting places like the beach or the backyard with the barbie instead of mindlessly roaming air-conditioned shopping malls.

You don’t feel harassed by having to battle an insane jam after work. Gee. I kinda forgot what traffic jams felt like.

But no city would be perfect for everyone. Adelaide is the kind of city that would suit a person who loves the outdoors and the quiet life. It’s also perfect for the non-shopaholic who likes to do quiet things after work like having a dinner with friends or to read a book by the beach.

But if you want an exciting, high-flying career, perhaps you need to reconsider coming  to Adelaide. Adelaide is really the place for people looking to slow down in all aspects of their lives – and that includes their careers! You must be willing to downsize. You must be willing to think out of the box and be open minded about things you’d consider out of bounds before.

For me: I simply love Adelaide. I love its smallness, its proximity to hiking trails, parks and beaches. I love its determination to be as slow as possible. I love the fact that I can bike to work. If I wanted a busy city girl life, I would’ve stayed back in Malaysia.

Why Adelaide? Why not?

5 thoughts on “Why Adelaide? Why not?

  1. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it or something.
    I think that you can do with some pics to drive the message home a little
    bit, but instead of that, this is fantastic blog.
    An excellent read. I will certainly be back.

  2. Adelaide city or CBD is small but Adelaide metro is hugh streching more than 50 km north south and 20km west east. That’s bigger than Singapore. The beautiful country like Adelaide Hill, Barossa Valley and Mc Claren vale are surrounding the metro. It is not for people who like to shop, partying etc. It is a good place to work, bringing up children and definitely for people who enjoy nature and love outddor life.

  3. I live at Adelaide foot Hill and it took me a mere 20 minutes bus trip to the city, half an hour by bike and 15 minutes by car.

Leave a Reply

